[an error occurred while processing this directive]

A character must belong to at least one character class. Non-human characters can have more than one class at the same time. Non- human characters with multiple classes have more playing options, but increase in level more slowly because XP is divided evenly among all classes.

Characters receive HP, spells and abilities based on their class, level and (sometimes) ability scores. Refer to the various Experience Tables to find the hit dice and spells (if any) that a character receives.

Clerics have spells bestowed on them by their deity and can fight wearing armor and using crushing (no edged or pointed) weapons. Clerics must memorize their spells just as magic-users. When clerics gain a new spell level, they automatically are able to use any of the available spells for the new level. The prime requisite for clerics is wisdom.

Fighters can fight with any armor or weapons, but they cannot cast magic spells. Fighters can have exceptional strength and gain additional HP bonuses if they have a Constitution of 17+. The prime requisite for fighters is strength.

Rangers can fight with any armor or weapons. Rangers can have exceptional strength and gain additional HP bonuses if they have a Constitution of 17+. They do additional damage in combat when fighting giant-class creatures. At 8th level, rangers may begin to cast druid spells; at 9th level, they gain magic-user spells. Rangers must be of good alignment and have ability scores of at least 13 in strength and intelligence and at least 14 in wisdom and constitution. The prime requisites for rangers are strength, intelligence, wisdom and constitution.

Paladins can fight with any armor or weapons and can cast a few clerical spells once they reach 9th level. Paladins can have exceptional strength and gain additional HP bonuses if they have a Constitution of 17+. They are more resistant to spells and poison, can turn undead creatures as if they were a cleric two levels below their current level, and are always surrounded by the equivalent of a Protection from Evil spell. A paladin may heal two HP of damage per his level once a day. A paladin may Cure Disease once a week at 1st-5th levels, twice a week at 6th-10th, and three times a week at 11th-15th level. At 9th level paladins gain the ability to cast clerical spells. Paladins must be of lawful good alignment and have ability scores of at least 9 in intelligence and wisdom, at least 12 in strength, at least 13 in wisdom, and at least 17 in charisma. The prime requisites for paladins are strength, intelligence, wisdom, constitution and charisma.

Magic-Users have powerful spells, but can use no armor and few weapons. They can only memorize those spells available in their magical grimoires (personal spell books) or use scrolls. Magic-Users may add new spells to their grimoires whenever they go up in level or find scrolls with spells of levels that they can scribe. The prime requisite for magic users is intelligence.

Thieves can fight with swords and slings and wear leather armor. In combat they do additional damage 'back stabbing' which is described in the Combat section. Thieves also have special skills for opening locks and removing traps. High level thieves also have a chance of casting magic-user spells from scrolls. The prime requisite for thieves is dexterity.

Multi-class characters are non-human characters who belong to two or more classes at the same time. The character's experience points are divided among each of the classes, even after the character can no longer advance in one or more of those classes. The character's HP per level are averaged among the classes. The multi-class character gains all the benefits of all classes with regard to weapons and equipment.

Dual-class characters are human characters who had one class for the first part of their lives, and then changed into a new class for the remainder. A character must have a 17 or 18 in the prime requisite for the class he wishes to change to as well as a 15 or higher in the prime requisite for the class he is dualing from. Once a character changes classes, he cannot advance in his old class Dual-class characters do not gain HP and cannot use the abilities of the old class while their new class level is less than or equal to the old class level. Once the character's level in his new class is greater than his level in his old class, he gains HP according to his new class and may use abilities from both classes.

Dual Classed Characters:
In order to Dual Class, your character must be human and must have a 17 or greater in the Prime Requisites of the Class they are changing to. In addition, the character must have a 15 or better all the Prime Requisites of the first Class. In Neverwinter Nights and in all SSI Gold Box Games, the Prime Requisites for Ranger are Strength, Intelligence, Wisdom and Constitution. If you are a Paladin the Prime Requisites are Strength, Intelligence, Wisdom, Constitution and Charisma. These differ from the Neverwinter Documentation. If you are a human Ranger or Paladin and wish to dual class, be sure all your Prime Requisites are 15 or better and the stats for the class you wish to dual to are at least 17.

(Other Prime Requisites by Class: Cleric - Wisdom, Fighter - Strength, Magic User - Intelligence and Thief - Dexterity)

This site has no affiliation with any games or
companies, and is strictly for private use.
Bladekeep.com, the Sacred Silver Blades,
and all SSB graphics are 1996-2001 by Medar.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]